Some tweaks to an ice cave map
authorgammafunk <gammafunk@gmail.com>
Mon, 3 May 2021 00:36:28 +0000 (19:36 -0500)
committergammafunk <gammafunk@gmail.com>
Mon, 3 May 2021 08:40:42 +0000 (03:40 -0500)
commit131cd56ac5693bb020670b1f00c0acf911154da0
treea2d7b766517a0c230841ced5552efc63866a60e0
parentfa0a1138f8918e26e6f3fcbad38694307cf20487
Some tweaks to an ice cave map

For ice_cave_azure_passage, some tweaks to the monster set and
placement, and some DES syntax cleanups.

For the monster set, remove shapeshifter simulacra, which are far too
weak. Leave in the somewhat stronger glowing shapeshifter simulacra, and
add in demonic crawler simulacra. The latter make decent lower-tier
threats and fit the "aberration" theme. Also add in very ugly thing
simulacra, but at half weight. These are somewhat nasty, but characters
with some rC shouldn't find them too difficult. For the slime creature
placement, the seven bands currently placed is excessive. Reduce this
number by about half, replacing them with 2/3 chance for simulacra and
1/3 chance for quicksilver oozes.

For DES syntax, reorganize to use normal monster slot glyphs where
possible. Use a simpler SHUFFLE+SUBST instead of a more verbose lua
conditional. Reindent statements and reorganize to have a consistent
order. I've also renamed the map to ice_cave_hellmonk_azure_passage.
Keeping the ice_cave prefix is good for consistency with other maps in
this file, but we should include the vault author's name when possible.
Closes #1933.
crawl-ref/source/dat/des/portals/icecave.des