Describe burning mechanics in tree descriptions
authorgammafunk <gammafunk@gmail.com>
Fri, 23 Apr 2021 06:09:04 +0000 (01:09 -0500)
committergammafunk <gammafunk@gmail.com>
Sat, 24 Apr 2021 08:40:15 +0000 (03:40 -0500)
Put basic details about tree and mangrove burning in their descriptions,
using a common entry for both types.

crawl-ref/source/dat/descript/features.txt
crawl-ref/source/describe.cc

index b7b28a6..c9aa229 100644 (file)
@@ -1058,3 +1058,14 @@ This tree has been temporarily enchanted to grant it some limited motility,
 allowing it to lash out out at any adjacent enemies of the creature who awoke
 it.
 %%%%
+tree burning
+
+It is susceptible to bolts of lightning and to sufficiently intense sources of
+fire. The resulting blaze can flare up, spreading to areas nearby and igniting
+other trees.
+%%%%
+mangrove burning
+
+It is susceptible to bolts of lightning and to sufficiently intense sources of
+fire. Mangroves do not burn as vigorously as normal trees, due to growing on
+swampy terrain, and leave behind shallow water after they smoulder.
index 87f2023..a9b828b 100644 (file)
@@ -2461,8 +2461,10 @@ void get_feature_desc(const coord_def &pos, describe_info &inf, bool include_ext
     if (feat_is_flammable(feat) && !is_temp_terrain(pos)
         && env.markers.property_at(pos, MAT_ANY, "veto_destroy") != "veto")
     {
-        long_desc += "\nIt is susceptible to bolts of lightning";
-        long_desc += " and to sufficiently intense sources of fire.";
+        if (feat == DNGN_TREE)
+            long_desc += "\n" + getLongDescription("tree burning");
+        else if (feat == DNGN_MANGROVE)
+            long_desc += "\n" + getLongDescription("mangrove burning");
     }
 
     // mention that diggable walls are